How Many Books Are There In The Discworld Series By Terry Pratchett?


2 Answers

Lucy Burroughs Profile
Lucy Burroughs answered

As of June 2012, there are 39 books in the Discworld series.

About Discworld
Discworld is a series of humorous, fantasy adventure stories written by English author, Sir Terry Pratchett. The first novel, The Colour of Magic, was published in 1983. Since then, Pratchett has been writing an average of two books a year, with the latest in the series being Snuff (2011). In the 1990s, Terry Pratchett was the UK's best-selling author, but he has since been overtaken by J. K. Rowling with the Harry Potter books...

Pratchett's Discworld series takes its name from the fictional world in which it is set. The Discworld is a flat world that balances on the back of four elephants, which, in turn, balance on the back of a turtle. The world is inhabited by an array of fantasy creatures, including (but not limited to) golems, gnomes, wizards and trolls.

The Discworld Series: Novels, Short Stories, Science Books and Other Publications
There are currently 39 novels, 6 short stories, 3 science books, and over a dozen other publications - including maps and a cookbook - in the Discworld series.

The Future of Discworld
Pratchett has hinted at the possibility of writing an additional three novels in the series, but he was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer's in 2007, and now writes with the help of an assistant or using speech recognition software.
Louise Gorman Profile
Louise Gorman answered
There are 35 books in the series, as of 2006. Pratchett was originally the UK's best-selling author of the 1990's, having since been overtaken by J.K. Rowling. His Discworld novels have won numerous awards such as the Carnegie Medal and the Prometheus Award. Fourteen of the Discworld novels were in the top 200 of the BBC's big read, with four in the top 100.

Recurring characters in the series included Rincewind (a wizard), Twoflower (a tourist), The Luggage ( an aggressive suitcase that belongs to Rincewind), The Witches (such as Nanny Ogg, Granny Weatherwax and Agnes Nitt), characters from The City Watch stories (such as Samuel Vimes) and many more.

Currently, one of the Discworld novels, The Wee Free Men, is being made into a film by Sony Pictures, making it the first Discworld novel to be released as a film for cinema. Hogfather, another Discworld novel, has been adapted into a 'made for television' film for Sky One in the UK. It will be shown at Christmas 2006, and will star David Jason.

Answer Question