How Many Books Are There In The Chronicles Of Narnia Series?


3 Answers

Joe Gilbert Profile
Joe Gilbert answered
There are seven books in the Chronicles of Narnia series by English author C. S. Lewis.

In reading order, they are:
1. The Magician's Nephew (1955) - The beginning of Narnia.

2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950) - Introducing the Pevensie children, recurring characters in the novels.

3. The Horse and His Boy (1951) - Follows an adopted boy named Shasta and his talking horse, Bree.

4. Prince Caspian (1952) - The Pevensie children return to Narnia at the call of Prince Caspian.

5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952) - Second of the novels to feature Prince Caspian, and introducing Eustace Scrubb, cousin of the Pevensies.

6. The Silver Chair (1953) - Eustace Scrubb and his classmate Jill Pole return to Narnia.

7. The Last Battle (1956) - The end of Narnia.

Publication Order vs. Reading Order
The Magician's Nephew was the sixth book to be published, but chronologically is the first in the series. There has also been some dispute as to the placing of The Horse and His Boy; like The Magician's Newphew, it seems to exist just outside of the central story arc. The order listed above is the order that Harper Collins numbered them in, and is in accordance with how C. S. Lewis wanted his books to be read.
Louise Gorman Profile
Louise Gorman answered

The books are as follows (in publication order):
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Prince Caspian
The Voyage of the 'Dawn Treader'
The Silver Chair
The Horse and His Boy
The Magician's Nephew
The Last Battle

When the books were published by Macmillan, they were numbered in the order in which they were published. However when HarperCollins took over the series in 1994, the books were renumbered in chronological order, which was suggested by the author's (C.S. Lewis) stepson, Douglas Gresham.

The chronological order of the books is as follows:

The Magician's Nephew
The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe
The Horse and His Boy
Prince Caspian
The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
The Silver Chair
The Last Battle

Gresham's suggested order for the books was backed up by a reply letter that C.S Lewis had written to a fan who was having an argument with his mother about the order of the series.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
I think there is like 7, you will have to look more, I'm a BIG fan of narnia, but not the books, LOL, shhhh, (I hate reading). But I'm not sure, people have said that they are ganna make a movie for every book of narnia, and the next 1 is commin in 2010. I can't wait!!! Good luck!

Answer Question