How Many Books Are There In The 'Anne Of Green Gables' Series?


2 Answers

Lucy Burroughs Profile
Lucy Burroughs answered
There are nine books by Lucy Maud Montgomery in which Anne Shirley of Anne of Green Gables is the main character.

Montgomery wrote two additional books (Chronicles of Avonlea and Further Chronicles of Avonlea) in which Anne is a minor character - and a prequel to the series, titled Before Green Gables, was written by Budge Wilson in 2008.

Anne of Green Gables is considered a literary children's classic, and follows eleven-year-old orphan Anne Shirley who is sent to live with her grown-up brother and sister on their farm on Prince Edward Island. The novel has sold over 50 million copies since its first publication, and has been translated into over 20 different languages.

The Anne Of Green Gables Series In Chronological Order

  1. Anne of Green Gables (1908)
  2. Anne of Avonlea (1909)
  3. Anne of the Island (1915)
  4. Anne of Windy Poplars (1936)
  5. Anne's House of Dreams (1917)
  6. Anne of Ingleside (1939)
  7. Rainbow Valley (1919)
  8. Rilla of Ingleside (1921)
  9. The Blythes Are Quoted (2009, but completed shortly before Montgomery's death in 1942)

Will Martin Profile
Will Martin answered
Altogether LM Montgomery wrote 7 "Anne" novels, as well as two books of short stories called "Chronicles of Avonlea" which revisited some scenes and characters from the novels. These are Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, Anne of Windy Willows, Anne's House of Dreams, Anne of Ingleside and Rilla of Ingleside.

These books follow Anne's life all the way from childhood to middle age. In the course of the stories she becomes a teacher, takes a degree, marries childhood sweetheart Gilbert and has seven children, one of whom dies.

The last novel, Rilla of Ingleside, takes a dark turn as it covers the events of World War I from the perspective of those left at home in Canada, especially Rilla, Anne's youngest daughter. With members of the family being killed in action and nobody left unscathed, it is very different in tone from the early novels (though none of these is without realism, and most contain tragic elements.)
thanked the writer.
Zoe hidden
Zoe hidden commented
You forgot one book rainbow valley and she has six children rilla of ingleside is the 8th book and rainbow vally is the seventh