What Exams Do Hogwarts Students Take In The 'Harry Potter' Series?


4 Answers

Louise Gorman Profile
Louise Gorman answered
Hogwarts students take O.W.L.s (Ordinary Wizarding Levels) and N.E.W.T.s (Nastily Exhausting Wizarding Tests), as well as undergoing yearly examinations!

O.W.L.s are taken in the fifth year, and N.E.W.T.s are taken in the seventh and final year.

Students take their exams towards the end of the year, and their results determine what careers they can embark upon.

Grading System for Hogwarts Exams
  • Pass grades: Outstanding (O), Exceeds Expectations (E), Acceptable (A).
  • Fail grades: Poor (P), Dreadful (D), Troll (T).
What Subjects Do Hogwarts Students Have Exams In?Students choose their classes in their second year, and will then take exams in the chosen subjects throughout their time at Hogwarts. They can choose from the following subjects:

  • Divination
  • Arthimancy (the magical prediction of numbers)
  • Care of Magical Creatures
  • Study of Ancient Runes
  • Muggle Studies
As well as having exams in the following compulsory subjects:
  • Defence Against the Dark Arts
  • Transfiguration
  • Charms
  • Potions
  • History of Magic
  • Herbology
  • Astronomy
Harry received his O.W.L. Results in Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, and discovered that he passed seven O.W.L.s.
Connie Hammond Profile
Connie Hammond answered
They take exams every year, just normal ones. The main exams are the 5th year OWLS and 7th year NEWTS (OWLS are Ordinary Wizarding Levels, and NEWTS are Nastily Exhausting Wizarding Tests).

Grades for OWLS and NEWTS are as follows:
  • PASS: (O) Outstanding, (E) Exceeds Expectations, (A) Acceptable.
  • FAIL: (P) Poor, (D) Dreadful, (T) Troll
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
OWLs (Ordinary Wizardry Levels).
Fern Ly Profile
Fern Ly answered

Answer Question